English language acquisition

ScotXEd have defined English language acquisition as having 5 stages, with broad titles as follows:

Stage 1 –  New to English
Stage 2 – Early Acquisition
Stage 3 – Developing Competence
Stage 4 – Competent
Stage 5 – Fluent

Our Profiles of Competence link these stages of English language acquisition with broad age bands. They also give a detailed description of the skills and competencies associated with stages of additional language acquisition across the three lines of development of language – Listening and Talking, Reading, and Writing, as described in Curriculum for Excellence.