Our staff

We have a team of around 180 staff working for ASL Service, working with learners aged 0-18 who have a wide range of additional needs.  Below you can find information on our Senior Management Team, our ASL Service Leaders and our administrators.

To see the staff and the clusters that they work in please click here.

The service has recently gone through a redesign and has moved to a locality model with cluster based teams. For more information on the restructure please click here.

Head Teacher

Kirsty Spence

Depute Head Teachers

Lorna Johnston

South East Locality
Responsible for

  • Learning, Language and Communication support
  • Early Years Team

Annemarie Procter

South West Locality
Responsible for

  • English as an Additional Language (EAL)
  • Support for Gypsy, Traveller and Roma

Iona Brockway

North West Locality
Responsible for

  • Learning and Wellbeing

David Fox

North East Locality
Responsible for

  • ASL Nurse, Moving and Handling Team
  • Sensory Team

Anna Gray

Responsible for

  • medical outreach, including Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services
  • quality assurance of support for learning
  • literacy and dyslexia.

 Business Manager

Ann Grant

Service Leaders

Service leaders cover clusters of schools and also lead individual specialist teams.

Locality Secondary Primary Service Leader
NW Broughton Ferryhill, Flora Stevenson, Granton, Stockbridge Fiona Calder
Trinity Trinity, Victoria, Wardie
Craigroyston Craigroyston, Forthview, Holy Cross, Pirniehall, St David’s
Forrester, St Augustine’s Broomhouse, Carrick Knowe, Gylemuire, Murrayburn, St Joseph’s Sarah Neary
Craigmount Corstorphine, East Craigs, Fox Covert, Hillwood, Roseburn, St Andrew’s Fox Covert
Royal High Blackhall, Clermiston, Cramond, Davidson’s Mains Fiona McCrory
Queensferry Dalmeny, Echline, Kirkliston, Queensferry, St Margaret’s
NE Portobello Brunstane, Duddingston, Parson’s Green, Royal High, Towerbank, St John’s Julie Wood
Castlebrae, Holy Rood Castleview, Newcraighall, Niddrie Mill, St Francis’
Drummond Abbeyhill, Broughton, Leith Walk, St Mary’s Edin, Bun-Sgoil Taobh na Pairce Lisa Oliver
Leith Academy Craigentinny, Hermitage Park, Leith, Lorne, St Mary’s Leith, St Ninian’s
SW WHEC Canal View, Clovenstone, Sighthill Lynsey Robinson
Firrhill Bonaly, Colinton, Longstone, Oxgangs, Pentland, St Mark’s
Tynecastle Balgreen, Craiglockhart, Dalry, Stenhouse, St Cuthbert’s Fran Platt
Balerno Dean Park, Ratho
Currie Currie, Juniper Green, Nether Currie
SE Liberton Craigour Park, Gilmerton, Liberton, Prestonfield, St John Vianney Anne Davidson
Gracemount Gracemount, St Catherine’s
James Gillespie’s, St Thomas of Aquin’s James Gillespie’s, Preston Street, Royal Mile, Sciennes, Tollcross Jodie Morrison
Boroughmuir Bruntsfield, Buckstone, South Morningside, St Peter’s


City Wide

Juliet McCann – Medical
Nicola Hammond-Evans – Early Years Team
Lynsey Robinson – Sensory Team
Tessa Humby – EAL Development
Margaret Gray – Audit/Training
Jilly Catlow – Specialist Provision Supports


Lead Teachers for Support and Development Work

Hilary Aitken – Literacy Dyslexia Support Service

Sheena Lowes – Partner-provider nurseries

Administration Team

Linda Cochrane – Service Administrator

Irene Keenan – Support Assistant

Aleksandra Williams – Support Assistant

Heather Meikle – Support Assistant